Chapter 40 – Wonderful Words – page 217

This is probably my favourite chapter in Designer Genes. Since I was a little girl, I have loved words… especially word games and puzzles. My mom teases that I used to read the dictionary when I was bored. Some would say that made me a nerd but… hey, I’m a writer now so I guess it paid off! 😀

There’s some really fun stuff in this chapter, such as Spoonerisms and palindromes. Another type of word play I enjoy is puns. Have you ever heard of those? Here’s a cute example I found today:

“I rode my bike twice yesterday. I guess that makes me a recycler.” Get it? 😀

A pun is when you use a word or phrase in a funny way that makes it mean something else, in this case “recycler” doesn’t actually mean someone who puts their newspaper in the blue bin, but someone who “cycled” again.

Here’s another cute one: “That’s a cool chair!” “Yeah, I know… it rocks.” (Rocking chair, get it?) 😉

Anyway, there’s all kinds of great stuff in this chapter, but the most important words are the ones you’ll find in your daily Bible readings. And remember that the words that come out of your mouth are really important, too. Sometimes we don’t realize that the way we speak to our parents, friends, and others can be really hurtful or disrespectful.

This week, let’s all ask God to help our words be beautiful!

Before we go, here’s a great word game! Quickly read the words below out loud.

Was it easy? Some people get mixed up and say the colours that they see instead of the colours that are written. 😀

Have a great week!

Ann-Margret