Chapter 39 – Manners Matter! – page 212

There’s so much packed into this chapter of Designer Genes that I’m not sure what I can add here. I hope you’ll do the fun quizzes that test your understanding of proper etiquette.

The truth is, people just don’t show the same manners and respect that they did 50 or 100 years ago. That doesn’t mean there weren’t rude or mean or disrespectful people in the old days, but there used to be some good habits and behaviours that I kind of wish we still had today.

I think the problem is that a lot of us are really focussed on ourselves. Have you ever noticed that when people are talking on their cell phones in public they seem to ignore everyone else around them? I’ve seen people get on the bus without even looking at the driver, or grab their food from a fast food counter without thanking the person who served them, or go through doors without checking to see if someone is behind them and holding the door open for them. I could go on!

Do you have any pet peeves about people’s manners? What about examples of friends who have really good manners? I’d love to hear about them! You can write to me at designergenes@annhovsepian.com.

Here’s something interesting: a list of proper manners written in 1879. (That’s almost 130 years ago!) What do you think? 😀

You might also want to check out: Judi, The Manners Lady

Finally, here’s a simple Manners word search puzzle:

Try to find these 13 words: COURTEOUS, ETIQUETTE, EXCUSE ME, FAIR, GOLDEN RULE, KIND, MANNERS, PLEASE, POLITE, RESPECTFUL, SHARE, SPORTSMANSHIP, THANK YOU

P W P K W O S A M L Q Q D
O I E K Y T R S U U Y W S
L B H G P U E X O F M Q U
I W Z S A O N C Y T R W O
T G K D N D N I K C I D E
E I B J C A A T N E A R T
C O P C R O M O A P F C R
Z M T N E I A S H S U K U
F E T T E U Q I T E B C O
B U T S M X V N T R U R C
D U E L U R N E D L O G G
P M D L D J E S A E L P Z
E M E S U C X E E R A H S

Have a great week!

Ann-Margret

