Chapter 32 – The Joy of Journalling – page 175

Hey girls! We’re now in Section 5 of The One Year Designer Genes Devo, the “fun” part that’s all about “The Things You Do” — perfect for summer!

When I was 11 years old, my sister gave me my first ever diary for Christmas. I loved it! I started writing in it right away and, each day, I would write down all the interesting things that happened at school or at home or at church, and I would even write about my feelings. I did this for many years, filling in quite a few blank journals or notebooks.

As I got older, I didn’t always write every day. Sometimes a few months would go by and I’d forget to write in my diary.

I also tried different ways of keeping a journal, and some of those ideas are in this week’s chapter of Designer Genes. It was always neat to go back and read things that I wrote a long time ago and see how much I had changed or grown.

To be honest, I didn’t keep those journals… one day I decided to get rid of them (don’t worry, I ripped them to pieces first so that no one would find them and read all my secrets!!) 😀 But that’s kind of unusual, and I think most people hang on to their journals.

What about you? Do you keep a diary or journal? You know, you don’t have to be good at writing to keep a journal! You could even just take a calendar and, in each day’s little box, write down a few words that will help you remember something special that day.

I encourage you to read each of this week’s daily devotions and jot down your thoughts. And even if you decide journalling isn’t for you, ask God to help you notice, remember and thank Him for the blessings He sends your way each day!

Have a super weekend!

Ann-Margret

