Chapter 5 – You Are What You Eat – page 25

What did you have for breakfast this morning? I’m actually eating mine while I write this (which is not the best way to eat breakfast, so please don’t follow my example!) I’m having a Kellogg’s Honey-Nut All-Bran bar and a fresh orange.

orange.jpg

I used to have the very bad habit of skipping breakfast, so this is a pretty good improvement!

Our bodies are kind of like cars. They can’t start without fuel!

Did you know that kids who eat breakfast every morning tend to do better in school? They are also less hyper and don’t get in trouble as much. Why do you think that is?

Well, think about it… If your body doesn’t get the proper nourishment it needs, you’re going to feel tired and maybe even grumpy. I don’t know about you, but it’s harder for me to be nice and to concentrate when I’m grumpy!

So, try to get some milk, fruit and cereal into your “car” before you start your day!

yellow-car.jpg

In this week’s chapter in Designer Genes, I listed some Fun Food Facts. I hope you enjoyed those! Here are a few more that may surprise you…

  • Lemons contain more sugar than strawberries. (That surprised me! Lemons are so sour!)
  • Strawberries were first discovered in Virginia.

strawberries.jpg Mmm… Thanks, Virginia! 😀

  • Chop suey doesn’t come from China. It was created by Chinese people in California!
  • It takes 3,500 calories to make one pound of fat. (That means you also have to burn 3,500 to lose one pound of fat!)
  • Peanuts are used in making dynamite!
  • Corn is grown on every continent except Antarctica.
  • An ear of corn always has an even number of rows. (That’s crazy! Who actually sat there and counted them all?? But how cool that God made them that way!)

0_61_corn.jpg

  • There are 7,500 varieties of apples grown around the world.
  • French fries were first created in Belgium!
  • In Japan, the most popular topping on a Domino’s pizza is… squid!

Check out this site for a lot more interesting information!

I hope you enjoy the Bible readings for this week (don’t forget to write down your answers!) and that God will help you to make sure you get the proper nourishment for your body… and for your soul!

Have a fantastic week! 😀

Ann-Margret

