Designer Genes Devo – Page 275 – “Online… or Out of Line?” 

Hello, ladies! I hope you’ve been enjoying the DG blog! I’m still open to your comments and suggestions. Let me know what kinds of things you’d like to see here.

This week’s chapter is about using the Internet, which is kind of funny because you had to get on the Internet to come here and read this!

When I was writing Designer Genes, I had tried most of the various features of the Internet, including chat rooms, on-line games, virtual worlds, instant messenger programs, etc. I hadn’t yet tried Facebook, but I did sign up this summer to check it out. Know what? After a few months, I said, “Tata!” to all my Facebook friends and closed up my account. Is that because I think Facebook is bad, or not good for a Christian? Not really… but I realized that it was taking up too much of my time, and I was starting to feel discouraged by things I saw on the profiles of people that I knew were Christians, pictures or comments or jokes that I felt didn’t honour God.

I remember many other times when I might have checked out a chat room or gone to a site and then thought, “Hmm… I don’t think God wants me to be here!” It takes a lot of discipline to not give in to your curiosity or temptation and participate in on-line activities that may have a bad influence on you. That’s why we need friends, parents, mentors, teachers — and God! — to guide and advise us. If we’re careful about how much time we’re on-line, and what we do, the Internet can be used for good things.

Like writing a blog for the coolest tween girls!

winky.gif

In the year 2000, a study showed that tweens spend about 4 hours a week surfing the Net. I’m curious to know how much that number went up in 2007! What do you think? Maybe 7 hours? More? Less? I wonder!

internet_dog.jpg

Cute, eh? 😀 But there’s some truth in there that we all need to remember… you never really know who someone you meet on-line is. Please be very, very careful!

Now, I don’t know about you but that’s enough Internet time for me right now. I will go and do some work… and then I have a few more Christmas cards I still have to write and mail!

Ann-Margret

P.S. I want to tell you about something exciting I did this weekend: I cut my hair! See my picture in the top left corner of this page? Well, imagine all that long hair gone… it now reaches just under my ears!

surprise.gif

I know, I know! It seems crazy! (And I do kind of miss my hair.) But I did it because I wanted to donate my hair to…

 locksoflove.jpg! (Click on the pic to go the Locks of Love Web site.)

Please write to me at designergenes@annhovsepian.com and tell me about something cool you’ve done lately!

Half an hour later…

Yes! I got the answer I was looking for! According to this article (it’s quite long, so your parents may want to read it more than you do), the average kid spends 1.25 hours a day surfing the Net (compared to two hours watching TV). That comes out to nearly 9 hours a week. That’s a big jump from the year 2000, but I’m pleased to see that the article also says most kids prefer outdoor activities to technology. Smart!! 😀

