I don’t know about you but I live on a busy street right in the middle of Montreal, Canada. I have LOTS and LOTS of neighbours! [By the way, because Designer Genes was published in the United States (Canada’s neighbour!), I’ve used American spelling in the book. I hope you won’t be too confused if I go back to Canadian spelling on my blog.]

Anyway, back to the neighbours… There are probably about 500 people who live just on my side of our street. You may have many more neighbours than that if you live in a big apartment complex… or you may have about 50 neighbours if you live in a quiet suburb. Then again, maybe you live out in the country and don’t have any neighbours for miles! Our experiences may be different from each other, but we still have the same responsibility — and privilege! — to love our neighbours.

If you’ve got a copy of The One Year Designer Genes Devo, you’ll notice that the devotional for November 1 falls right in the middle of the chapter called “Love Your Neighbor” (page 237). [Oops, time for another interruption! Since it might feel kind of strange to start something in the middle of the week, please note that starting next week I’ll be posting updates on Mondays.]

Now, where was I?

thinking.gif

Oh yeah! Did you know that there are about 135 verses in the Bible that mention the word “neighbour”? Most of these verses teach us to treat our neighbours with respect, kindness, honesty… and love! Here’s the catch: your “neighbours” aren’t just the people who live next door to you.

Let’s go back to the October 31 Bible reading: Luke 10:25-37 (You can read the whole story on-line by clicking this link.) What do you think Jesus was trying to teach through this story?

There’s already a puzzle on this subject in Designer Genes, but here are a couple of extra activities that I found on the sermons4kids.com Web site. You can print these out and do them whenever you have some time:

Good Samaritan crossword puzzle

Good Samaritan word search

And here’s a funny story I found about neighbours. đŸ˜€

Each evening, bird lover Tom stood in his backyard, hooting like an owl. One night, an owl called back to him! For a year, the man and his feathered friend hooted back and forth. He even kept a journal of their “conversations”.

Just when he thought he was making an amazing discovery about communicating with another species, his wife had a chat with the next door neighbour.

“My husband spends his nights calling out to owls,” she said.

“That’s odd,” the neighbour replied. “So does my husband.”

They paused, looked at each other… and then burst out laughing!

 crackingup.gif

Well, okay… I thought it was funny! winking.gif

So, now it’s your turn! I’d love to hear your stories about good neighbours. What is something really kind and unexpected that someone did for you? Or let me know how you plan to be a good neighbour to someone this week! You can write to me at designergenes @ annhovsepian . com (without the spaces) or leave a comment here (if your parents say that’s okay).

Thanks for visiting! I hope you’ll come by again next Monday. We’ll be talking about “Only One Earth”, the chapter that starts on page 242.

Hugs! hug3.gif

Ann-Margret

